St. Louis, MO – S. M. Wilson & Co. stood next to Northwest R-I School District officials earlier this month as they kicked off Phase 1 of Proposition S, the 2023 bond issue projects with a groundbreaking ceremony at High Ridge Elementary School. The passage of the zero-tax increase bond issue for $28 M is funding district-wide improvements in two phases. Paragon Architecture is the project architect. 

At High Ridge Elementary, the Phase 1 improvements include a new secure entrance and an upgrade to the school’s front west corner exterior with the school’s colors of blue and white and blend with the existing red brick to give it a fresh new look. 

In Phase 1, Cedar Springs Elementary and Woodridge Middle School will also see the installation of new secure vestibules, enhancing the safety and security for students and staff. Northwest High School is getting a two-story field house addition with a wrestling room, fitness center for weight lifting, and a small locker room. New playground equipment will be installed at the Early Childhood Center, and playgrounds will be replaced at all six elementary schools. Cedar Springs will also benefit from improvements to its driveway for improved site circulation and reduced congestion. 

Through Proposition S, every district building is expected to be touched in some way as part of a safety and security renovation plan. The bond projects are separated into two phases. 

“After months of planning and collaborating, S. M. Wilson is excited to start Phase 1 with the Northwest School District,” said Matt Frank, project director with S. M. Wilson. “We look forward to working closely with the district to ensure that each step of these projects is completed to exceed our client’s expectations.” 

S. M. Wilson has worked in partnership with more than 40 school districts in Missouri and Illinois, including, but not limited to: Ladue School District; Francis Howell School District; Pattonville School District; Columbia Public Schools; Edwardsville Community Unit School District #7 and Alton Community Unit School District #3.